Right Here Waiting

Love the marbling of the algae around this odd couple

Love the marbling of the algae around this odd couple

‘The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men/ Gang aft agley’. Today I got a sinking feeling of panic on hearing that my flight was delayed by over two hours due to the weather and I wouldn’t be able to make my connection. Getting a little more familiar with these situations, I established that hotels in Los Angeles are packed out due to the Special Olympics at the moment, so my only real option was to venture back out into Newark, New Jersey. The obliging lady at the check-in desk rearranged to the next viable alternative: unfortunately it’s 11 hours longer than my previous flights and with an extra stop-over but nothing I can do about that, so have had to shake off the annoyance. Right now I’m sat in an inordinately expensive, but simultaneously revolting, hotel relatively near to the airport so I can try again tomorrow. Not a favourable thing to happen when you’re supposed to be travelling on a budget, but a relatively small obstacle in comparison to other potential items from the list of ‘things that could go wrong’ (*touch wood*).

The plus side of this situation is that I’ve had plenty of time to relax after the hot energy of New York.

Touching John Lennon memorial in Strawberry Fields, Central Park

Touching John Lennon memorial in Strawberry Fields, Central Park

Fingers crossed that tomorrow will be easier.

Thanks, Alby

Thanks, Alby

2 thoughts on “Right Here Waiting

Leave a Reply

