Passing Stranger

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.”

– Tim Cahill

It feels strange being suddenly so alone after having spent such a long time in constant company.

I have to admit that I found the popular ‘Miraflores Locks’ and the Panama canal pretty dull. There was just such an enormous crowd of people watching an incredibly slow and tedious process.

IMG_2368

IMG_2346

Perhaps it’s because I’ve reached the end of my tether after travelling pretty much constantly since November, alternatively it could be the fact that I’m recovering from a nasty bug: Either way I’m not particularly interested in Panama city. The ‘Caso Viejo’ old town region was a little more picturesque that the usual mediocrity but I’m not particularly in a position to be wandering around the city by myself as the men are particularly relentless in their verbal affronts. It’s impossible to even walk a minute down the road to the supermarket without being hounded by at least 10 locals, even when reluctantly trading in my short shorts for more conservative attire. The record’s 25. Anyway, you can see that I don’t feel particularly comfortable whacking out a large camera in this rather dodgy neighbourhood so photos will be limited.

IMG_2373

IMG_2377

Interesting graffiti in ‘Casco Viejo’. Love how the person trying to paint the walls has dodged around them.

IMG_2382The city does, however, have some great little spots to pass the time. You can get a taxi out to the ’causeway’, a couple of Islands in the bay with a great view of the skyline.

IMG_23942

One thought on “Passing Stranger

  1. Wow, surreal just opened a package from my Mom, in it was a post card that I sent to my Grandmother when I was in Panama back in 1993, then I come here (about two minutes later) and immeaditly recognize your photo as a place I have been.
    Stay safe traveler. Thanks for being part of the mosaic of my life, by sharing yours.

Leave a Reply

