A Spoonful of Sugar?

“Anything is good if it’s made of chocolate.”
 – Jo Brand 

My first impressions of Granada are rather more favourable than of the gritty León: yet another classic colonial town with beautiful churches, cathedrals and general architecture.

Being Easter Sunday, I decided to indulge in a course in local chocolate making! The process was great fun, starting from the dried bean right through to a bar of chocolate!

Image

Image

Roasting the, previously fermented and dried, Cacao beans – a wok can be used in place of this traditional ‘ceramic pot over an open fire’ method!

Image

Image

The outer ‘husks’ are then removed (a ‘crushing’ technique before peeling seems to be the most effective method!) to leave Cacao nibs which you then ground with a pestle and mortar into a cocoa mass called chocolate liquor. The natural fat in the bean produces a surprising amount of moisture once ground thoroughly!

Image

We then used this chocolate liquor to recreate ancient Aztec and Mayan recipes! Cacao has been cultivated for at least three millennia in Central America, with it’s earliest documented use being by the Mayans in 1100BC! Adding boiling water, cinnamon  honey and pepper and then mixing naturally through pouring from one jug into another produces the original Mayan take on Hot Chocolate!

Image

The Aztec version involves simply adding chilli and cardamom to this concoction creating a bizarrely uplifting drink! It was in fact believed to fight fatigue. I was shocked to find out that there is actually no caffeine in chocolate, as I had previously thought, but the similar, mood enhancing, theobromine possibly explaining why chocolate supposedly makes people ‘happier’! These chocolate drinks were consumed widely in Mayan and Aztec culture, also being used at sacred ceremonies and even as sacrifices for the gods and as currency!

The Europeans were the ones to include the additions of refined sugar and milk, ingredients unknown to the inhabitants of Central America. We also had a crack at making this more modern take on the drink through adding three teaspoons of the Cacao mass to a cup of hot milk then two teaspoons of sugar, resulting in a much more familiar taste! Unlike the Mayans and Aztecs, however, the Europeans never integrated chocolate into their general diet, isolating it instead into the ‘sweats and deserts’ category. Perhaps this idea may itself evolve with the help of some of the more adventurous modern chefs!

Following the class, I headed out to the local Easter service in the country’s most renowned cathedral (Granada Cathedral). Despite the fact that my Spanish has come a long way since Argentina I must admit that I struggled to understand the service but enjoyed the atmosphere, nevertheless! I then found myself stuck in an Easter procession on the way back, with fireworks and a loud brass band accompanying me to the hostel!

Image

So there’s my Easter experience in Central America! More to follow tomorrow…

9 thoughts on “A Spoonful of Sugar?

  1. When we were in Madagascar we were offered raw, ripe cocoa. The pod broken open to reveal the seeds with a thick, soft, white and sweet flesh on each which can be sucked. We didn’t see any choc making. though Madagascar is said to produce good chocholate. By the way – you must mean 3000yrs of cultivation, unless neanderthals…..

  2. Love that! I love adding chocolate to things. I like the super dark chocolate–my kids say it tastes like dirt! 😀 I’d cut the sugar and milk …. love it with chillies!

  3. I cannot eat chocolate. I get told NO! Every time i try… It seems like chocolate would be tasty. My human says it is BAD for me! But she eats a lot of it. I don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

