Waiting For The Snake

Image

I almost stepped on one of these earlier. My foot was around twelve inches above it’s torso before I suddenly noticed it on the path. I flew backwards and in my shock I could barely articulate a proper swear word. On identifying it on our return to Libby’s house we discovered that not only is it endangered but according to the ‘Australian Venom Research Unit’ the ‘broad headed snake’ “may become agitated when disturbed, and strike rapidly. Its venom contains neurotoxins and procoagulants…and may cause serious illness.” I’m very glad that we didn’t attempt to get a photo, as the snake was in fact raised up into this threatening position, but it does mean that I’ve had to borrow a photo off the internet so forgive me for that!

2 thoughts on “Waiting For The Snake

  1. Wow, you were lucky. Did you get a chance to look at it? I’ve only caught glimpses of snakes here…good on the one hand, but on the other, they are beautiful in a “wouldn’t want to get to close to one” type way.

Leave a Reply

