So Lonely Was The Ballard

It’s strange how much you can miss people that you’ve only known for a week. The others left in Wellington to carry on down to the south Island. I’m so frustrated that I’m not going to get a chance to see the south Island – If I was reorganising the trip I would have arranged to go down, but you can’t do everything, I guess! I’m now back in Taupo, alone again. I should really make an effort with the people in my hostel but I just can’t see the point; I’m leaving early in the morning. The ‘nomads’ hostel I’m staying at is slightly cheaper than the ‘base’ hostel from the last stay in Taupo but not quite as central which is irritating. I miss friends from home, I miss the family (who I haven’t spoken to in weeks now) and I miss my travelling companions of the past week. Taupo seems a little empty without them!

Instead of moping about I decided to do a three hour hike to ‘Haku’ waterfalls and I stopped off at the hot springs on the way back for a quick dip. The springs are also a pretty laid back way of meeting new people…I got chatting to a Dutch group and a raging hippy from Colorado took us to a more secluded hot waterfall just up the river.

DSCF8707

The blur is actually steam coming off the water! As hot as a sauna!

4 thoughts on “So Lonely Was The Ballard

  1. Not a bad thing to be lonely sometimes – quiet time for reflection is a useful tool for life and maybe one learns to appreciate who and what one loves more. If everything was wonderful all the time, one might not realize it as ‘wonderful’ as there would be no contrast. The thing is to live each moment for what it is, appreciating the good bits, and it certainly sounds as if you have been doing this.

Leave a Reply

