It’s Raining Again

“Not all those who wander are lost.”

–  J.R.R. Tolkein

Touchdown in Auckland, New Zealand, with a strange sense of déjà-vu from the British “summer”. Sounds like I’ve missed the worst of the weather, though. There was a tornado here around an hour before I arrived which actually killed a few people, according to the bus driver.  I found my way to the ‘Nomads Fat Camel’ hostel; I’m sharing a dorm with around 16 girls. It’s like university halls but with each small room having two bunk beds! I’m debating whether to go on the hostel’s bar crawl tonight. It’s tempting, but after waking up successively at 04:00 and 04:30 over the last two mornings my energy levels are pretty depleted. I’ve got another early start tomorrow so I’ll most likely just be anti-social this evening. I’m going to book to stay here for my last night when I return to Auckland, as it’s incredibly cheap, so that would be a better time to go out.

 After wandering about for a couple of hours I’m getting a flavour of the ‘hobbit’ fever that’s gripping the nation, with the film being released on the 12th. I think it will be unavoidable to make a trip to the cinema next week – it would almost be rude not to!

2 thoughts on “It’s Raining Again

Leave a Reply

