Sunny Afternoon / Madness

IMG_9088

It was my last day at Mando today. The kids put on a spectacular show! Groups of them had dressed up in various local traditional costumes: Mud men – covered in mud, giving them a ‘white’ appearance and then fairly creepy masks with real teeth; Moko Moko men – orange and white mud striped, with a dance consisting of smacking their backsides whilst singing “moko moko; sinahime men – covered completely in pitch black mud and singing a chant whilst they walk around in a line and lastly the traditional bilas which they dressed me up in the Saturday before last. It was breathtaking! The teachers had actually made the effort to come in today. Even the board members were there to see me off. They each gave long speeches and then asked me to give one. Unfortunately there was a black out mid way through my improvised speech cutting off the (pretty crap) microphone and leaving me in the embarrassing position of having to just shout through the rest. The children then came up to me one by one and piled presents on me: various shell and bead necklaces, bilums, spears, mud men masks, mud jewellery!, traditional clothing etc. I was really overwhelmed by the whole thing! We then waited around for three hours (this is still PNG, after all) and then had a feast with the staff where they gave me yet more presents and then I finally made my way home with my hoard! Yet another incredible day.

6 thoughts on “Sunny Afternoon / Madness

  1. Sounds like you have really made a difference to the children in this school. The masks look like those worn in Swiss Carnival/Fastnacht to chase away the winter. Just got around to catching up with everything on this brilliant blog.

  2. What a Wonderful ending to your time at Mando,the children will remember your enthusiasm for long after you’
    ve left and hopefully will be inspired! They certainly have a very expressive culture and we can all learn from this.

Leave a Reply

