Fight For Your Mind

“True knowledge exists in knowing that you know nothing.”
Socrates

This is incredibly frustrating: The other teachers at the school apparently didn’t feel like working today. I was the only teacher there. Again. The school has around 300 students. The grade four classes (around age 12) present even more of a challenge than my previous groups. The majority are almost illiterate so we did some basic work on reading, writing and spelling! With all of my classes I’ve been prioritising work on hygiene, sanitation and various diseases such as Typhoid and Malaria. I’ve also been sneaking in a bit of emphasis on responsibilities concerning pets; Most of the cats and dogs here are walking, breathing skeletons. My efforts seem completely futile as I know there is ultimately very little I can do; this is their culture. If the country was thoroughly well educated it would be a completely different place. My experiences have demonstrated how charities that simply throw money at a problem do not actually improve the living standards of the people. Teachers should be paid according to the number of days they are actually present; Very few make the effort to come into school. The teachers are now spending the majority most of the school’s yearly budget on ‘prizes’, decorations and food for their speech day. There is absolutely no concept of saving money (or anything for that matter) here.

Observation of the day: During break I’ve noticed that lots of the little children go around catching cicadas with cups on long sticks. The local children from the area tend to hang about in the school during the day – mostly peering in the windows of my classes as if they were at a zoo; I tend to have a fairly large audience . They then grab the cicada, rip off it’s wings and legs and carry them round as a ‘rattle’ for a while before eventually eating them. Charming.

Image

3 thoughts on “Fight For Your Mind

  1. WOW: What Overwhelming Wierdness; We have just managed to catch up with this at our beqch hotel;puts our experiences of watching turtles and lemurs n the shade, well done for your perseverance at the school, hopefully the kids will really appreciate it, take cqre love mum and dad xx

  2. Wow. The photos you post on this blog are so powerful… Every time I scroll down my reader section I just have to stop and stare, before clicking to read all about it of course.

    It’s awesome what you’re doing. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

