All Day And All Of The Night

These bloody mice are driving me crazy. They freely scuttle about the place all day even when I’m sitting right in front of them. One of them even had the cheek to run across my bed last night whilst I was trying to get to sleep. Charming. It almost seems like it’s the same one that’s developed a taste for my clothes so keeps coming back for more. Well this town ain’t big enough for the both of us, my friend. I’m going to have to borrow a cat.

Last night I was considering if there was anything more annoying than having a mosquito stuck inside your net and buzzing inside your ear every five minutes. In answer to that, this morning there was a hideously enormous cockroach perched at the end of my bed.

However, this seems utterly insignificant in comparison with Zimbabwe over Christmas 2010. I would gladly put up with mice and cockroaches in exchange for the termite armies, enormous biting centipedes, baboon spiders and whip scorpions. The lack of deadly scorpions dropping from the roof (in the absence of Katherine: master scorpion crusher) is a particular treat. In hind sight I guess I’m pretty lucky.

Leave a Reply

